My Favorite Things: Veggies!

One thing that I just LOVE is vegetables.  I honestly crrrave them!

Oh man, could I just eat veggies allllllll day.  The only reason I don’t… my stomach would explode with bloatedness.  It’s so worth it though!  I pretty much love all vegetables, but my favorites are: asparagus, zucchini, squash, spaghetti squash, broccoli, cauliflower, and my new favorite, brussel sprouts.  Ok, I could go on and on… So I guess all are my favorites. 

But you may be thinking… I wish I loved vegetables more.  Well, you can!  It’s all in the way that you make them.  I personally wouldn’t be caught dead eating RAW broccoli, unless it was being smothered in dip of some sort.  But when you cook them to your liking, add some sweetness and spice, it is delightful!  I owe my veggie love to my sister {dashingdish} who taught me that I can eat veggies and love them! 

So here’s how I cook them.

Spaghetti squash:

Microwave for about 7-10 minutes (depending on the size), cut it open, and scrap out the seeds.  From there, you have two options:

1.  Eat as is.  This will give you a “crunchy” spaghetti.  Top with sauce, turkey meat, parmesean cheese, salt, pepper, and of course garlic. 

2.  Put in a sprayed pan and add parmesean cheese and spray butter.  Cook for 5-8 minutes until crispy.  This will give a “fried spaghetti” feel… which my mom always made for us when we were young, except with real butter and real spaghetti.  {Not pictured, but yummy!}

In all, if you haven’t tried spaghetti squash, DO IT!  I know it can seem intimidating because it’s this big watermelon looking thing, but there are so many awesome ways to eat it.  It’s easy to make, high in fiber and nutrition, and only 40 calories per cup!! 

Have you tried spaghetti squash?  What’s your favorite way to eat it? 

  

My new favorite: Brussel Sprouts

Ok, so the first thought of brussel sprouts usually makes people want to gag, but it is such a misconception.  I personally thought I didn’t like them either, until I tried broiling them.  Now, I think I am slightly addicted.  {Good thing to be addicted to, huh? :) }

First, take frozen  bag of brussel sprouts, rip a small hole in it, and microwave the bag for about 5 minutes.  (Guess what? You don’t need to spend the extra money to buy the steamable veggies… just micro them right in the bag they come in! It works!)  Then, put foil on a pan (easy clean up), spray the foil, put the brussel sprouts on the pan, and spray them so the yummy seasonings stick.  Then add, garlic, salt, pepper, garlic flakes, parmesean, and stevia.  *Yes, I know, stevia, weird… but don’t knock it till you try it.  Then broil for about 7 minutes, checking on them often.  They come out CRISPY and yummmmy. Dip in ketchup {this step is a must} and enjoy :).

Oh, and by the way… I eat the whole bag in one sitting.  I’m guilty :)

Another fav: Sweet Potatoes!

There are so many wonderful ways to eat this high fiberous-yumminess-starch/veggie.

Want to save time? {who doesn’t?} Then, get the sweet potatoes wrapped already in this nifty little plastic wrap.  No need to wash it… {already done}!  Just pop it in the microwave for 5-7 mins and you’re ready to eat!

One way you can eat it:  Fries.  Instead of microwaving, cut into strips, top with salt, and bake! Another way? cut into thin slices, and broil… like chips!!

My favorite though, is: Microwave till soft and ready to eat, cup open, add spray butter, stevia, cinnamon, and tons of frozen cool whip! YUM!  Tastes more like dessert than a veggie!

What’s your favorite veggie and your favorite way to eat it?  Do you ever use ketchup on your veggies?

One response to “My Favorite Things: Veggies!

  1. my favorite veggie is zucchini I think! Roasted with Parmesan and ketchup of course! :) Great post EM!

Leave a Reply

